Preparation week

The moment I stepped foot into the design building, that feeling of pure excitement just washed all over me. I was internally cheering and doing flips of returning back to class. Hopefully this hyper mood sticks with me throughout the semester and the stress and anxiety of assessments doesn’t kick in anytime soon.

I had an amazing two days just chilling at uni and getting my work sorted. I love to pace out my work rather than rush it all. The first day I spent it drawing up my pattern blocks. This semester it looks like we are making trousers. Had fun trying to see if they would fit me, luckily it will fit except for the height which is the case with me for practically every pair of pants anyway. We make a basic set of pattern blocks and each week we learn to vary them so we are aware of the different styles or variations applicable to the garment such as adding darts, moving certain aspects of the garment etc. It’s probably the most technical part of fashion that I can think of besides all the other research components and the creative thinking. In the end, what you learn makes putting together garments much easier.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BIZcxgnDK_7/

On the second day, I attended a short meet and greet session where we met our teacher and also heard about her experiences and her work. It truly was an amazing experience and the stories she told us as well as the insight into her work just really put things into perspective when it comes to being in the mind of a designer. It showed me how we all interpret things in different ways and how the products of our visions end up being amazing creations. It was great to chat to her and to know that its ok if you haven’t figured out your style yet. It’s a question I constantly am asked and I feel that I am still trying to find myself and what my style is. I have some sort of idea but I keep going off on a tangent.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BIb4oHSA44R/

I guess these two days of preparation really made me feel that not only was I back to what I felt most comfortable with but it also opened my eyes to the possibilities that fashion design has to offer. I guess it broke down the fears that I had been experiencing as well as lifting the weight off my shoulders that I had been feeling because of my confusion as to whether or not I fit in or if I had made the right choice.

I am looking forward to this semester and what it has to offer. I can’t wait to challenge myself and to gain some more experience and insight into my own journey of design. I feel that as I more forward, I grow and learn more and am able to push my creativity further in many ways.

Dina xoxo

Leave a comment